I know this question is rather old…
What I normally do is simply deploy my image to any compatible Mac, run all available software updates to get to the latest OS version, then save a new copy. This always (knock on wood) ends up producing a new image that can be used with the latest machines. Once I’ve verified it works fine I simply stop using the previous version of the image, and delete it once it’s a couple versions old.