Home Forums Software InstaDMG My journey through InstaDMG

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 45 total)
  • Author
    bw38
    Participant

I’m completely new to all this InstaDMG and I’ve set a few goals for this project that I’m carrying out. I’m not the most Mac savy but I can read and get my way around using logic. So far, I managed to create a successful vanilla image by following the guide on the Google Code website. I can boot into that just fine.

Today I wanted to test how to add regular applications that are simply dragged to the Applications folder (i.e FireFox). So I modified the 10.6_vanilla file and came up with the following:

bw38
    Participant

Apologies for making a second post, but the board software seems to think my posts are spam.

[code]
    Third Party Software:
    FireFox 3.6.10 /Users/myaccount/instadmg/InstallerFiles/InstaUp2DatePackages/Firefox 3.6.10.dmg sha1:6ffdca438b785f18bbb818727747dae7fece0fed
    [/code]
    I left the rest of the 10.6_vanilla catalog the same, but just added this piece.

I have a feeling that this was not how I was supposed to do it though, but I wasn’t sure how else to go about it. I wasn’t too clear if I should have a catalog file for every application I want to add to the image. So I created a FireFox catalog (called FireFox.catalog) which wasn’t quite working properly. I was able to do the checksum. So I figured maybe if I run the command in the InstaDMG guide like this:
    “sudo ./instadmg/AddOns/InstaUp2Date/instaUp2Date.py 10.6_vanilla FireFox –process”

But that gave me all sorts of weird messages in Terminal. So I decided to just add the FireFox line in Third Party Software in the 10.6_vanilla Catalog file. That seems to have worked.