Oooh – this was a while ago 🙂
I *think* I just crossed my fingers and made an archive of the open directory (via server admin), and then restored it… I’m not sure but I *might* have demoted to standalone and re-promoted the server back to a master before doing the restore. I do remember I was at the point where I was going to have to do something, or start re-creating all of the accounts by hand, so I tried this on a hunch.
Whatever I did, everything has been fine since (and passwords did not need to be changed). Backup your server and give it a try. Maybe post back for others (unlike I did 😉 )…
Craig