AFP548 Changing the world one server at a time.

Your network home folder is in use

Home › Forums › OS X Server and Client Discussion › Questions and Answers › Your network home folder is in use

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • #365752
    David Kaplowitz
    Participant

    hello,

    a couple potentially related problems – any ideas will be appreciated.

    1) I’ve started testing a couple users with portable home directories, and on login/logout i’m getting “Your network home is in use. If you synchronize now, some files may not synchronize properly.”

    2) In Workgroup manager, when I try and save changes in Sharing, for example permissions for a particular User home folder, I’m getting “Unable to save changes. The items path may have changed”

    3) I’ve also got general problems on the partition where the User home directories reside – for example, if I try in the command line to rm a directory so I can recreate a User’s home directory, I get a whole series of “invalid argument” errors, and unable to remove the directory. can’t mv /rename either.

    Any ideas?
    thanks in advance
    david kaplowitz

    #366146
    David Kaplowitz
    Participant

    hi there, sorry for delay. after i run disk warrior on the User partition of the xServe RAID, all of the noted problems disappear: "network home folder in use," the "invalid argument" errors when doing any file moving through the command line (or the GUI), workgroup manager problems – all gone.

    problem is they return after a period of 1-3 weeks. i can run disk warrior again and all is fine, but i shouldn’t have to do this, right?

    i’m suspecting some problem with the way our server, RAID, backup machine, tape library, and fibre switch are all talking to one another and resulting file corruption, but i can’t isolate it.

    any ideas will be appreciated.

    david

    #366894
    jstaloff
    Participant

    I had this issue today, and found it was only for new users whose home directory had yet to be created. After creating them deliberately in Workgroup Manager, mobile users sync without that error.

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.