Home Forums AFP548 Community Open Mike Running some other Unix flavour on a Xserve Intel

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    Smop
    Participant

Hi –

On my Xserve Intel box, I’m considering replacing Mac OS X Server 10.4 by some other Unix flavour, such as FreeBSD.

Is there someone here who did it? I can’t find any reliable information on that topic…

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you.

Georges

Smop
    Participant

Hi –

[QUOTE][u]Quote by: macshome[/u][p][…] What is prompting the move away from Mac OS X Server?[/p][/QUOTE]
    Well, because I’ve been struggling for seven months to make that bloody Xserve box running smoothly andI’m sick and tired of not succeeding. If I can’t install another operating system, I’m gonna sell it right away.

For the same purpose (a small Internet server) I’ve been running for ten years several Sun servers running Solaris and never had a single major issue other than a couple of dead hard drives.

I love and use Apple products and I thought that their servers were now mature enough to meet my requirements and I was wrong. Perhaps that I’m just too much used to the flexibility of the traditional Unix command line interface or there are subtlelties that I can’t get, but I’ve wasted enough time. I experienced numerous kernel panic, filesystems corruption, and I’m not even talking about all the little annoyances and limitations of Mac OS X Server. As the machine is covered by an AppleCare Premium maintenance contract, Apple changed once the motherboard, but their so called professional support is a real nightmare, at least here, in Europe.

I’ve spent this year more than $17K for this personal project and that’s also more than enough. It’s time for me to put back a good old Sun box. I’ll consider perhaps again Apple’s stuff in five years.

Anyway, thanks for your answser ! Sorry if I’m a little upset by this whole situation.

Georges

Smop
    Participant

Hi –