can’t find a difinative answer.. so i’ll try posting.
i have an xserve with 10.2.6 and it not set up how i wan’t (no directory services, no user shares, partioned install, no raid etc etc)
so i want to wipe it , re-install and set it all up correctly.
BUT!
this will of course screw all the permissions (i don’t want to import all the old users and groups as they are really poorly executed)
what i’d like to do i suppose it to ‘blank’ all permission on all shared volumes (some kinda recursive chown ? ) and then set the perms via workgroup manager…..
suggestions on the best way to do this….
and also .. if i need to restore data from a retrospect tape.. is there a way to supress file perms.
aslo while i’m here, is it ok to run directory server and password server and file services all on the same box.. i only have one xserve now, but expect to add another 2 or 3 in the future.
thanks,
beenie