AFP548 Changing the world one server at a time.

Local MCX settings lost with upgrade from 10.5 to 10.6

Home › Forums › OS X Server and Client Discussion › Questions and Answers › Local MCX settings lost with upgrade from 10.5 to 10.6

Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • #377266
    jasonkstupski
    Participant

    Hello all,

    I’m running a test Snow Leopard upgrade on one of our deployed 10.5.8 images with local MCX running. After I installed the upgrade, I noticed that my hidden user (uid = 499) disappeared completely, and all the local MCX settings got wiped out. Is this expected behavior, or is there a way to prevent those two (pretty major) changes from happening?

    Thanks,
    Jason

    #377279
    tlarkin
    Participant

    jasonkstupski wrote:

    Hello all,

    I’m running a test Snow Leopard upgrade on one of our deployed 10.5.8 images with local MCX running. After I installed the upgrade, I noticed that my hidden user (uid = 499) disappeared completely, and all the local MCX settings got wiped out. Is this expected behavior, or is there a way to prevent those two (pretty major) changes from happening?

    Thanks,
    Jason

    I think this is a bug because I have seen this all over some mailing lists. Upgrading kills some management, but if you do a clean install and apply your management and hidden users they work. Something in the upgrade process kills that stuff.

Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.