Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Author
    _Lunchbox_
    Participant

hi all

I have some general inquiries regarding kerberos and OS X. What I am trying to figure out is if the behavior I am seeing is by design or typical. Or if something is broken. This is my first time using OS X and studying it’s integration into other systems like Active Directory so unfortunately I can’t draw on any personal experience

We’re experimenting with integration of OSx into our almost purely Microsoft environment. We’re seeing a few caveats to how authentication works against Active Directory and, more specifically, Kerberos.
    First, when you boot up OSx and the networking stack is not completely initialized, it won’t you log in with network credentials if you’re never logged in before. That’s to be expected as it can’t contact any directory servers. Once things initialize and the red\yellow dot in the username field goes away, you can log in and you’ll get a TGT from a kerberos KDC. All is well and you can authenticate to other network resources using kerberos.

However, say you reboot again and log in before the networking stack is up or you’re just disconnected from any network. Let’s also assume you have a mobile account created for your managed (network) account. So, you are able to get logged in. Then you connect to the network (wireless, plug in, whatever).
    In this scenario, we’re seeing that you can’t get to any kerberized resources because you never got a TGT. Moreover, you will never get a TGT unless you run kinit or logout and back in. Bummer. At that point you’re pretty much reliant on your keychain to supply credentials to network resources that you’ve accessed previously.