Home › Forums › OS X Server and Client Discussion › Questions and Answers › Filesharing – Disabling Default Shares
- This topic has 5 replies, 5 voices, and was last updated 23 years, 11 months ago by
Respond IT.
-
AuthorPosts
-
November 19, 2002 at 3:34 am #354781
Anonymous
ParticipantIs it just me, or do others also want to be able to disable the unnecessary default shares that are enabled in Server?
I’ve got customized shared running off a RAID-1 internal array and would like to turn off Groups, Mac Manager, and Public shares as those are not needed. However, clicking OK on the warning and saving the changed doesn’t seem to affect anything.
Any hints?
November 21, 2002 at 8:55 pm #354787Cabbage
ParticipantI just deleted those shares
November 21, 2002 at 11:49 pm #354788waterman
ParticipantFor the changes to take effect on the client side you may need to restart. That has been my experience at least.
Good luck.
November 22, 2002 at 1:47 am #354789Respond IT
ParticipantI left the folders on my hard drive because I wasn’t sure if I’d need them in the future. To turn off their shared status, I went into Workgroup Manager, clicked the Sharing icon in the toolbar, and clicked on each Share Point that I didn’t want. On the right side of the window, I unchecked “Share this item and its contents”, clicked Save, and they disappeared from the left side of the window “Share Points.” Is this what you tried?
Bryan
November 27, 2002 at 7:52 am #354810legacyb4
ParticipantIt was what I tried and noticed something weird:
When I tried to disable the default shares using a domain administrator, the settings didn’t stick; however, when I did the same using a local machine administrator (no domain account), it seemed to work although I had to ignore the warning.
I’m leaving the folders in place as you mentioned to be safe.
bryan wrote:
I left the folders on my hard drive because I wasn’t sure if I’d need them in the future. To turn off their shared status, I went into Workgroup Manager, clicked the Sharing icon in the toolbar, and clicked on each Share Point that I didn’t want. On the right side of the window, I unchecked “Share this item and its contents”, clicked Save, and they disappeared from the left side of the window “Share Points.” Is this what you tried?
Bryan
November 27, 2002 at 11:53 pm #354813Respond IT
ParticipantYour problem appears to be over my head, but did you try Repair Permissions recently?
Bryan
-
AuthorPosts
- You must be logged in to reply to this topic.