Hey folks –
I’ve run into this nagging problem ever since 10.3.3. My server is providing domain controller services to Win2k clients, and I don’t want roaming profiles. So I change the logon home and logon path directives in smb.conf as such:
logon home =
logon path =
Restart Samba, and everything is right with the world. However, it seems like now with 10.3.3, if the server is rebooted, it replaces whatever was in my smb.conf with a fresh copy of the configuration as seen in in Server Admin, which is fine, except it strips out my blank logon home and logon path directives completely, which causes samba to revert back to roaming profiles.
My next step is to write a startup item that will copy a “good” copy of the smb.conf into the proper location to overwrite the fresh copy so helpfully provided by Apple at each startup, but this is a royal PITA. Is there something else I can try to preserve permanence of my hand-edited changes?